Jardin des Tuileries

Rue de Rivoli 1st. (Open Map)


The historic Tuileries Garden, measuring 28 hectares, is a stunning formal park designed in 1664 by André Le Nôtre, architect of the famed gardens at Versailles. With its fountains, ponds, sculptures, and fashionable atmosphere, it quickly became a beloved spot for Parisians to show off their finery. Today, the Tuileries is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage site of the Banks of the Seine, and is considered to be one of the best parks in the city. The western end of the Garden was once home to the 16th century Palais des Tuileries, but it was destroyed in 1871 during the Paris Commune. Now, only two buildings remain – both of which are museums. The east-west axis of the Tuileries continues to the west as the "axe historique" (historic axis), which leads to the Arc de Triomphe and ultimately La Défense.

At the west end of the Tuileries Garden are two museums – the Musée de l'Orangerie and the Jeu de Paume. The Musée de l'Orangerie is set in a 19th-century structure built to shelter the Garden's orange trees in winter. The two oval rooms of the upper floor are an attraction – with eight of Monet's enormous Water Lilies canvases bathed in natural light. On the ground floor is the private art collection of Paul Guillaume, including works by the greats of early modern art – Matisse, Picasso, Renoir, Modigliani, Soutine, and Utrillo.